Posted: November 12, 2012 in Uncategorized

Great inside tutorial developing Android Rom using git, github and Gerrit!

zigackly

One of the things I found difficult to get my head around, coming from a very commercial development background, is how version control and change management works in the Android open source community.

The tools are great, but the documentation is scarce and doesn’t join up to give a clear overall picture of how to use them together to easily control what you are doing.

In this guide, I hope to provide a picture of how I use the four tools in the title to control branching, merging, storing and submitting my code base for review

Note that I may not be doing it in the best or most efficient way. This is an approach I have learned by trial and error, so I welcome comments from those more experienced than myself or indeed anyone who sees a better way to do this.

Environment

This guide assumes that you are…

View original post 2,009 more words

Leave a Reply

